Getting hurt on the job is one of the biggest fears for many San Diego workers. The loss of income and high medical bills often results in economic hardship for both the worker and their family. Workplace accident victims are typically entitled to workers’ compensation benefits to help offset their financial losses.
While these benefits should be paid without much hassle, many injured workers don’t receive the full benefits they deserve without the help of an attorney.
If you have been injured on the job, contact our experienced San Diego Workplace Accident Lawyers at CaseyGerry today for a free consultation.
After a workplace accident, there are a variety of reasons that an employer or their insurance company will outright refuse to pay your workers’ comp benefits. An attorney will be your advocate in negotiations to make sure you are not taken advantage of, and that you receive the benefits you are entitled to.
If you have a permanent disability because of your work injury, your employer or their insurer may offer to settle your claim with a lump sum. However, insurance companies are notorious for short-changing injured workers when they offer settlements.
The initial offer will likely not be enough to cover the full cost of your medical care and lost wages, in effect, hurting your ability to recover properly. A workplace accident attorney can review your case and the settlement offer, to then advise you on the average amount of compensation an injured worker might recover in a case like yours.
An attorney will also explore other options for obtaining compensation, such as a third-party claim. These types of lawsuits after a work injury are separate from workers’ compensation claims.
Employers in San Diego and throughout California are required by law to provide no-fault insurance against workplace injuries and illnesses. In return, injured cannot file lawsuits against their employers when they get hurt or sick while on the job.
Failing to have workers’ compensation insurance is a criminal offense in California. It is also against the law for an employer to require employees to pay for or offset the cost of the policy, and they cannot punish or fire an employee for filing a workers’ compensation claim.
The California Division of Workers’ Compensation oversees the administration of claims. They also run the workers’ compensation court system that resolves disputes over benefits.
Payments under workers’ compensation laws in California include:
You are entitled to these benefits under California law regardless of who was at fault for the injury or why it happened. However, it must be reported to your employer within 30 days, and you have one year to officially file a workers’ compensation claim.
The major downside is that the benefits only cover a portion of your lost wages. Disability benefits typically pay for two-thirds of your average weekly wages, and the maximum weekly benefit amount is $1,300.
Although employees cannot legally file a lawsuit against their employer, there may be additional compensation that can be pursued in a third-party claim. For example, you may have a third-party claim if one of the following parties were also involved in causing the accident that led to your workplace injury:
These are separate legal actions from workers’ compensation claims, and the burden of proof will fall on you. If you can successfully prove another individual or company is responsible for your injury, the following types of compensation are commonly available:
If you have been injured or lost a loved one in a workplace accident, contact CaseyGerry. Our highly experienced legal team can help you recover the most from workers’ compensation and advise you on whether a third-party claim may be appropriate.
Schedule a free consultation today by messaging us online or calling (619) 238-1811.