California Ride Sharing Crash Laws
Ride Sharing Crash Laws for Injured Drivers, Passengers and Others
Below are a few of the laws in California that govern Uber and Lyft drivers. Some are general laws all drivers in the state must follow; others are specific to ride sharing companies and their drivers.
California Vehicle Code
First, it’s important to understand that Uber and Lyft drivers must adhere to California vehicle laws. The entire California driver handbook is online here.
Assembly Bill No. 2293
The Governor of California approved Assembly Bill No. 2293 in 2014. The legislation outlines rules regarding insurance for transportation network companies – those that use an application or platform to connect passengers with drivers using a personal vehicle – such as Uber and Lyft.
AB-2293 requires Uber, Lyft and other ride sharing companies to:
- Maintain $1 million in insurance coverage, which acts as primary coverage for death, personal injury, and property damage.
- Inform participating drivers of the insurance coverage and limits of liability that the company provides while the driver is using the ride share platform. Companies must also tell their drivers that while using the platform, their personal automobile insurance policy will not cover them in the event of a crash.
- Provide $1 million in uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage.
This is just a snapshot of the rules under AB-2293. Click here to read the full list of requirements under this law.
Uber Crash and Insurance Coverage Rules
Uber’s website describes the insurance it carries for its drivers. In addition, it outlines when and how it covers drivers and what they should do during different crash scenarios. Below is a brief breakdown.
If a collision occurs as a driver waits for a ride request (and the driver is not at fault for the crash), Uber suggests the driver makes a claim against the at-fault person’s insurance and possibly his or her own policy.
While on their way to pick up a rider or during a trip, Uber drivers are insured for:
- Bodily injury or damage to passengers, other motorists, pedestrians, or property
- Uninsured motorist (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) bodily injury coverage
- Contingent collision and comprehensive coverage. As long as an Uber driver maintains this type of coverage on their personal policy, Uber’s insurance will cover vehicle damage up to its cash value regardless of fault.
Uber’s insurance does not cover crashes that happen while their drivers are driving their vehicles for personal use.
Lyft Crash and Insurance Coverage Rules
Lyft also outlines its insurance coverage here. When “driver mode” is on but the driver has not accepted a ride, Lyft provides contingent liability coverage. From the beginning to the end of a ride in the Lyft app, Lyft’s liability insurance will act as primary coverage. For those who carry commercial insurance or specific personal coverage for ridesharing, Lyft’s policy will be excess to that coverage.
Getting Legal Help After a Ride Share Crash
If you were injured or a loved one was killed in an Uber or Lyft crash, our firm can help. CaseyGerry has more than 70 years of experience handling vehicle crash claims and insurance company issues. Our team has successfully represented victims involved specifically in ride sharing crashes. We welcome you to contact us at (619) 238-1811.
CaseyGerry Awards & Recognition